One way connections

Lux maps won't make themselves.
Post Reply
frogger
Lux Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 12:26 am

One way connections

Post by frogger » Sun Dec 03, 2006 3:54 pm

It isn't obvious, but I know other maps have it. How do I do it?

User avatar
dustin
Lux Creator
Lux Creator
Posts: 10466
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Cascadia
Contact:

Post by dustin » Sun Dec 03, 2006 8:50 pm

At the moment this cannot be done from the map editor. You'll have to open up the map file (it's just a text file) and manually edit it.

Let's say you have countries A and B that connect both ways, but you want to make it a one-way connection from A to B only. Find the code for country B and then find the <adjoining> tag in B's code. Remove A's country ID from the adjoining tag and save the file.

It's not user-friendly, but neither are one-way connections 8)

Ryan the Shizz
Lux Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 10:08 pm

Post by Ryan the Shizz » Sun Jun 03, 2007 2:47 pm

when will it be part of the map editor?

User avatar
SnyperEye
Anti-Holy Assgrabber
Posts: 6547
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:57 am
Location: The Anti-Holy Church of Lux
Contact:

Post by SnyperEye » Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:32 am

bump!!! yes when will it be!!!

User avatar
Enzo1997
Lux Vacationer
Posts: 1628
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 10:44 am
Location: Childhood
Contact:

Post by Enzo1997 » Sat Dec 12, 2009 7:10 pm

I want them :D

User avatar
Enzo1997
Lux Vacationer
Posts: 1628
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 10:44 am
Location: Childhood
Contact:

Post by Enzo1997 » Sat Dec 12, 2009 7:11 pm

They've been used in olympic maps so.. :smt017

User avatar
Naraku
Lux Demon
Posts: 1523
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:37 pm

Post by Naraku » Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:41 am

They've been used in those maps, but it's kind of a pain in the neck to accomplish.
There is a good explanation somewhere on the map forum of how to do it.
I recommend giving your lux forum search tool some research to do...

User avatar
Kruelgor
Luxer
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 8:36 pm
Location: Rome Wasn't Built In a Day
Contact:

Post by Kruelgor » Thu Dec 24, 2009 3:00 pm

dustin wrote:At the moment this cannot be done from the map editor. You'll have to open up the map file (it's just a text file) and manually edit it.

Let's say you have countries A and B that connect both ways, but you want to make it a one-way connection from A to B only. Find the code for country B and then find the <adjoining> tag in B's code. Remove A's country ID from the adjoining tag and save the file.

It's not user-friendly, but neither are one-way connections 8)
This is cool that it can be done. This will come in handy for D-Day scenarios where you would like to build up an invasion force.

crunching
Lux Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:02 pm

Re: One way connections

Post by crunching » Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:10 am

Hi everyone, has anyone had a chance to look at adding one-way connections to the map editor?

User avatar
paranoiarodeo
Semiholy Tyrant
Posts: 10421
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 5:30 pm

Re: One way connections

Post by paranoiarodeo » Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:15 am

Nope. Sorry.

(You've still gotta manually create one-way connections via text editor.)

User avatar
Enokrad
Dark Spawn
Posts: 3367
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 4:16 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: One way connections

Post by Enokrad » Sun Oct 27, 2013 1:47 am

Any further development in the map editor has been halted due to other projects

User avatar
Naraku
Lux Demon
Posts: 1523
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:37 pm

Re: One way connections

Post by Naraku » Tue May 17, 2016 5:55 pm

Are the projects done yet?
any chance of getting this added in or something in the next release?

Post Reply