Overground issues

Lux maps won't make themselves.
mixkula
Lux Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:45 am

Overground issues

Postby mixkula » Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:53 pm

Hi, i'm working on a really nice looking map just one problem, my overground doesn't load, is it too big (500 KB)??

It's kinda key cus basically the whole boundaries are fixed with the overground...

Thanks

User avatar
paranoiarodeo
Lux Commissioner
Lux Commissioner
Posts: 10032
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 5:30 pm
Location: Perched Upon the Eternal Throne of Lobotomia
Contact:

Postby paranoiarodeo » Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:17 pm

500 kilobytes is a very reasonable size for an overground. Some maps themes are much larger, and require longer load times for some users, so bravo. AFAIK, the Lux app loads themes only once during any session. If you already played your map in Lux, and made any changes to the theme files — background, foreground, or overground — then you must close and reopen the Lux app, or else you won't see any changes. Also, overgrounds must be saved as 24-bit PNG files with alpha layer transparency and named overground.png. Please make sure you haven't accidentally saved in a different format or used a different file name.

(Hopefully, one or both of these tips will solve your problem.)

mixkula
Lux Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:45 am

Postby mixkula » Wed Feb 29, 2012 6:00 am

Thanks for your reply!

I did all of the things you told me, several times. I just discovered the reason why it wasn't loading: there was a overground.png in the folder but also a overground.psd so it loaded the PSD. The funny thing however is that the map editor did load the correct file :s

User avatar
paranoiarodeo
Lux Commissioner
Lux Commissioner
Posts: 10032
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 5:30 pm
Location: Perched Upon the Eternal Throne of Lobotomia
Contact:

Postby paranoiarodeo » Wed Feb 29, 2012 1:34 pm

mixkula wrote:... there was a overground.png in the folder but also a overground.psd so it loaded the PSD.


I tested on my system and you are correct. Personally, I never keep work files in my theme folders, so I hadn't came across this bug before. Nice catch. Hopefully, dustin can tie up this loose end in his next release. Should be a simple enough fix.

User avatar
Enokrad
Dark Spawn
Posts: 3367
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 4:16 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Postby Enokrad » Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:38 pm

the multiple overground file issue has been always there.

I think it was also stated back in the day in some thread.

The reasoning behind this is that (at least when it comes to the background file) Lux does not know which file format a user might have chosen to save his file in.

There are backgrounds in .jpg .jpeg .png and so fourth and any of them work fine.

It makes it easier (although more error prone) to simply check for files that are named "background" or "overground" rather than having to check the file format as well.

User avatar
paranoiarodeo
Lux Commissioner
Lux Commissioner
Posts: 10032
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 5:30 pm
Location: Perched Upon the Eternal Throne of Lobotomia
Contact:

Postby paranoiarodeo » Wed Feb 29, 2012 6:14 pm

Enokrad wrote:It makes it easier (although more error prone) to simply check for files that are named "background" or "overground" rather than having to check the file format as well.


That might make sense if the overground could be anything other than .png. Since there's only one possible format, it might as well be hard coded with the file extension to avoid conflicts. Also, strangely enough, .png is ahead of .psd alphabetically, so I wonder what kinda sort dustin uses for priority. Again, I had no personal experience with this bug, and obviously didn't bother searching the forums beforehand. Oh, well. Maybe next time I'll just keep quiet until one of you professionals has had time to speak up.

;)


Return to “Map Room”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron