Page 1 of 1

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:40 pm
by Mike
Ok - first, I love it.

FOR THE MAP BABYLON

When playing Isreal, India or Iran, i can win it. I pretty much forced a draw when I play Saudi - between Isreal and India.

I'm playing Egypt now, and it does not seem that Saudi is doing anything. Obviously Egypt, Pakistan and Saudi are allies, is there an issue with the AI?

I'm not sure that Pakistan and Saudi do anything if the human is not playing them.

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:58 pm
by Mike
Image

Playing Saudi - I see that Egypt does actually play as the AI. Also, earlier, I did see Pakistan moving when I played Egypt. However, I am not sure that Saudi AI will play when I am playing Egypt.

One comment though - See how Saudi has pieces of Egypt? That is where I killed Israel that had taken over some Egypt lands. Not sure if this is intentional or now, but now Egypt can not get the bonus because I control their land.

Something to consider, allow the 'team' to get the bonus if both allies control the land, or establish rules such as if an ally liberates land, it reverts back to control of the original owner. Any new land is divided up - similar to the rules of Axis and Allies -

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:31 pm
by Mike
Image

See right above the text for BagDad - it appears that there are 7 Egyptian guys in the bagdad space. They must be in the yellow space where Saudi is - and not in the space controlled by Iran.

I realize that it is a small map - but when multiple armies are in one space (allies) perhaps arrows or something to show where they actually are.[/img]

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:32 pm
by Mike
Image

This is interesting - Im playing Saudi, and had re-captured a lot of land that was originally Egypt. He has income, but no Castle - So I sent 5 of my guys up to Turkey, and placed a Castle.

Not sure what will happen next, but presumably Egypt will now be able to place there.

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:51 pm
by dustin
The Babylon map is also a modified beta map originally built for a different game concept. If it were to become a final map it would probably be changed up quite a bit.

The AIs in the game are early versions, they don't have a ton of smarts currently.
Mike wrote:Something to consider, allow the 'team' to get the bonus if both allies control the land
It does work like this now. If multiple players on the same team control a whole continent together, they will each get part of the bonus, divided up based on how many of the countries in the region they each own.

Right now, you can only recruit units to your own castles. You cannot recruit into your teammates castles. Although, you can build a castle in a country owned by a teammate, and then recruit there.

Posted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:56 pm
by Mike
Interesting - I seem to have lost the background -

Image

Restarted - it came back. Not that it is of any interest, but thought you may want to see it.

Posted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 1:29 pm
by Lupus ferox
I played it as Israel, Very difficult. I playes it as India. Easy. It seems the bot are not well suited for this map.

The lines in the sea seem to be connections but aren't. All lines of attack are going through Israel, which i think is too easy.

The graphics is very ugly (sry to the maker), I wouldn't add it in the release package.....

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 1:25 am
by blackj3sus
since theres no ships could you remove the water lines from the theme?
it could be confusing for new players.

(i had the lost background thing once too mike)

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:29 am
by Mike
Finally won as Pakistan

Image

The trick is to keep India at bay - until you have about 100 infantry, and save all your money. Then move out of your Castle - stay North, and when India takes over Iran's Castle - work your way down to India's original castle. - Then dig in for the long battle.

Posted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 11:30 am
by mbauer
Any thoughts on the new middle east map?

Posted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 12:19 pm
by Mike
THIS MAP -

Isreal and India are too strong, but this is based on the current theme. If we play some multiplayer, the scenario may work.


Are you planning to make a new Middle East map? If so, I think it should be balanced, without the scenario in mind. Perhaps with cities and nomads - so that there are isolated cities, and nearby resources, also make it have multiple paths, and not one bottle neck through Iran.

does this make sense?

Posted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 1:30 pm
by mbauer
I think you might be using the old one because there is no longer an Israel and there are now 3-4 "paths" across the board (Iran and 3 others).

The new Mid East map should look like this

Image

Image

And it is called "Middle East" now as opposed to "Castle Babylon"

Posted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:08 pm
by dustin
I'm not 100% sure it actually made it into the last alpha build.

Posted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:35 pm
by mbauer
Yeah I was worried about that, because the one packaged inside Vox is the old one.

I can post a .zip file in here if you'd like

Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 10:17 am
by Mike
how does one take a file from outside Vox, and insert it into the game machine?

Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 4:22 pm
by blackj3sus
i see this when i run the middle east map:
Image


mike, are you talking about putting in a new map or changing the sdk?

Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 8:07 pm
by Mike
im talking about updating MB's map

Posted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 1:14 am
by blackj3sus
the .voxb goes in the CastleVoxPC\Support\Maps folder

theme in goes in the CastleVoxPC\Support\Themes\'themename' folder

Posted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 9:19 am
by mbauer
That looks like the right theme but the wrong map file...oops

Dustin you want me to post the correct one in here or are you can do the update?

Posted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 4:52 pm
by dustin
I just uploaded an updated build with the proper files for the new Middle East map.