Lux Map Conversions

Synchronized-turns strategy. Calling all teamers.
Post Reply
User avatar
RandomGuy
Lux Veteran
Posts: 1463
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 12:02 am
Location: Central American Jungle
Contact:

Lux Map Conversions

Post by RandomGuy » Sat Sep 18, 2010 7:24 pm

Is there any easy way to do a lux map conversion into Vox? If I wanted to create one map that worked for both (obvious scenarios/unit differences) can I do that?

How similar are the xml? If I saved a luxb as voxb what would need to change for vox map editor to recognize it?

User avatar
dustin
Lux Creator
Lux Creator
Posts: 10795
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Cascadia
Contact:

Post by dustin » Sun Sep 19, 2010 12:47 am

To convert a lux map into a Vox map:

- open the lux map file with the Vox map editor.

- add the scenario player names (c-U)

- add the vox starting country units (c-6)

- add any individual-country bonus values (c-6)

- Save it and test!

- if 1 player is not being displayed in the player-info, run the EditorTools -> Shift All Player IDs Up by 1 command.

User avatar
nimrod7
Clown Prince
Posts: 9685
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:51 pm
Location: Under the big top
Contact:

Post by nimrod7 » Mon Sep 27, 2010 4:06 pm

So I am converting one of my Lux maps to Vox. I changed the name and what not and left to do something else. When I tried to "Open Map", I couldn't find it.

User avatar
mbauer
Not A Truck
Posts: 3959
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 3:59 pm
Location: Tallahassee
Contact:

Post by mbauer » Mon Sep 27, 2010 5:04 pm

Did you make sure it's in your Vox directory and not your Lux directory?

User avatar
nimrod7
Clown Prince
Posts: 9685
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:51 pm
Location: Under the big top
Contact:

Post by nimrod7 » Mon Sep 27, 2010 5:10 pm

Thanks. I was looking in the Lux directory.

User avatar
mbauer
Not A Truck
Posts: 3959
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 3:59 pm
Location: Tallahassee
Contact:

Post by mbauer » Mon Sep 27, 2010 5:12 pm

:dp

User avatar
Wizargond
Luxer
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 5:09 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Post by Wizargond » Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:33 pm

Hello all,

Very nice, the Castle Vox thing ;)

I already tried to convert lux maps without succeeding before I came to read the stuff you guys typed here. I then after tried creating my own little map just to learn a bit, but had the same problem.

When I actually load a game to test the map, it says it couldn't find (for example) ID=2...

I tried dustin's "Shift all player's ID up by 1", but i always get with the same problem.

Where is the problem exactly ? Any other or better to resolve it ? :)

P.S. I like the game a lot, it has lots of specs I was looking for in Lux which Lux had not. :) Bravo!

User avatar
dustin
Lux Creator
Lux Creator
Posts: 10795
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Cascadia
Contact:

Post by dustin » Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:58 pm

Did you do all the steps I listed above? I think it might be the "add the scenario player names (c-U)" one that's causing the problem. Make sure you also fill in team ID numbers in that window also. If you re-open the c-U window, it should show the player names you entered last time.

User avatar
Wizargond
Luxer
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 5:09 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Post by Wizargond » Thu Oct 07, 2010 1:36 pm

Actually, I have to fill the team IDs for each single player ? Is that it ? I did so, doing all the steps you listed, and it all worked with another map of mine I had previously made for Lux.

But maybe there are some conflict with the conversion of Lux maps like Roman Empire I or II... Can it be related to the updater files ?

User avatar
dustin
Lux Creator
Lux Creator
Posts: 10795
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Cascadia
Contact:

Post by dustin » Thu Oct 07, 2010 1:49 pm

I don't think the updater files would affect it at all.

You definitely have to fill in a team ID for every player that you want in the map.

User avatar
Wizargond
Luxer
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 5:09 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Post by Wizargond » Fri Oct 08, 2010 12:33 pm

Hello, and thanks for your answers, dustin.

However, after following correctly all the steps you listed above, here is the mention I get when I try to launch a converted Roman Empire II into Vox :

"Map Error : The entity name must immediately follow the '&' in the entity reference."

User avatar
Lupus ferox
Creator of Maps
Posts: 668
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 4:51 pm

Post by Lupus ferox » Fri Oct 08, 2010 1:09 pm

It's sort of a custom to ask the original author of the map (Suntzu in this case) for permission..... I learned the hard way...

User avatar
dustin
Lux Creator
Lux Creator
Posts: 10795
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Cascadia
Contact:

Post by dustin » Sat Oct 09, 2010 4:29 am

Wizargond wrote:"Map Error : The entity name must immediately follow the '&' in the entity reference."
One of the country names must have an & in it. Remove or replace that and this error should go away.

Post Reply