bug? battles hang

Synchronized-turns strategy. Calling all teamers.
Post Reply

Have you had the game hang during a battle?

Yes
2
20%
No
8
80%
 
Total votes: 10

unhandy
Lux Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Bloomington, IN

bug? battles hang

Post by unhandy » Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:06 pm

Has anyone else had a problem when playing the AI that the game hangs in the middle of a battle? Choosing "restart game" game doesn't, I have to close the current game and start a new one.

I'm on Ubuntu 10.10, VC1.12.

User avatar
dustin
Lux Creator
Lux Creator
Posts: 10798
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Cascadia
Contact:

Post by dustin » Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:48 pm

Hey,
First thing to check is that you have the most recent version of Java installed on your system.

After that, there's an Online->Debug Report menu command that might send some clues as to the cause to me.

unhandy
Lux Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Bloomington, IN

Post by unhandy » Wed Nov 24, 2010 7:19 pm

I've got java 1.6.0_22.

I just sent a bug report.

unhandy
Lux Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Bloomington, IN

Post by unhandy » Thu Nov 25, 2010 12:09 pm

Here's the terminal printout when the error occurs.

Code: Select all

Grabby 8 Louis ordering moves...........
Cannot moveUnit with a number of 0 <US: 29 Pawn owned by <Player> oCountry: 9 dp: 762,570> from:<Country> to:<Country>
Cannot moveUnit with a number of 0 <US: 29 Pawn owned by <Player> oCountry: 9 dp: 762,570> from:<Country> to:<Country>

Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NullPointerException
	at javax.swing.JComponent._paintImmediately(JComponent.java:5101)
	at javax.swing.JComponent.paintImmediately(JComponent.java:4896)
	at javax.swing.RepaintManager.paintDirtyRegions(RepaintManager.java:740)
	at javax.swing.RepaintManager.paintDirtyRegions(RepaintManager.java:696)
	at javax.swing.RepaintManager.prePaintDirtyRegions(RepaintManager.java:676)
	at javax.swing.RepaintManager.access$700(RepaintManager.java:57)
	at javax.swing.RepaintManager$ProcessingRunnable.run(RepaintManager.java:1550)
	at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(InvocationEvent.java:226)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:602)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:275)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:200)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:190)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:185)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:177)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:138)
VoxNetClient dabrow19 kill()
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
roundOverFriendlySound.play(). commands=12, flashingBattles=2
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=
Vox -> readLine() got a -1 (EOS) buf=

unhandy
Lux Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Bloomington, IN

?

Post by unhandy » Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:31 am

:?:
So, any ideas?

gearguts
Lux Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 9:15 pm
Location: Canada

Post by gearguts » Sat Dec 04, 2010 1:56 am

I had that problem with version 18 of java. With 3-4 gold I'd leave the recruit box open and it would freeze during battle phase.

I know you said you have version 22, but at the top of CastleVoxPC/Support/log.txt does it say -> VM: 1.6.0_22?

Edit: If so, consider re-installing java?

User avatar
dustin
Lux Creator
Lux Creator
Posts: 10798
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Cascadia
Contact:

Post by dustin » Mon Dec 06, 2010 3:41 am

There's a possible fix for this issue in the works. It will be included with the next bugfix release, hopefully out soon.

unhandy
Lux Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Bloomington, IN

Post by unhandy » Mon Dec 06, 2010 9:10 am

OK, it seems to be fixed.

Apparently I had two different jre's installed - one at version 20 and one at 22, and the default version that was running CV was 20. After switching to the 22 I haven't had any problems.

Thanks!

Post Reply