Headless Server - how to run a Lux room from the command line

Game of universal domination. New dice available free upon request.
User avatar
dustin
Lux Creator
Lux Creator
Posts: 10961
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Cascadia
Contact:

Re: Headless Server - how to run a Lux room from the command line

Post by dustin » Sun Mar 21, 2021 8:10 pm

Hmm, I recall the server enforcing certain settings for the weekend, I's have to look more into it. What's happening for you now?

User avatar
Maginot
Luxer
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2020 9:30 pm
Location: Verdun, France

Re: Headless Server - how to run a Lux room from the command line

Post by Maginot » Mon Mar 22, 2021 7:39 pm

SecondTermMistake wrote:
Sun Mar 21, 2021 6:59 pm
How do you make a host switch to shuffle ranked on Sundays? Or even how do you do it manually?

Yo, SecondTermMistake; basic chat command line functions:

/setshuffle 1 :: ✱ Player order has been set to 'random' for the next game ✱
/setshuffle 2 :: ✱ Player order has been set to 'random, but winner stays' for the next game ✱
/setshuffle 3 :: ✱ Player order has been set to 'highest ranked first' for the next game ✱
/setshuffle 4 :: ✱ Player order has been set to 'cycle out losers' for the next game ✱

(dustin saying that he "enforces certain settings for the weekend" only means that ranked games, despite saying they're ranked in the main tracker, will default to shuffle -- random, and no winner stays -- outside of the last 48 hours of the week, but who knows if that still works given the recent Sillysoft server timezone shift; might now be off by six hours.)

:panic:

User avatar
SecondTermMistake
Luxer
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 8:05 pm

Re: Headless Server - how to run a Lux room from the command line

Post by SecondTermMistake » Mon Mar 22, 2021 8:17 pm

Yea, I'm using -shuffle3 when I run from the command line.
Which from what I can tell is the same as -shuffle4, except for on the weekends? when it turns into 'highest ranked first'
I guess it seems this past weekend the timing of that was goofed.

User avatar
Maginot
Luxer
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2020 9:30 pm
Location: Verdun, France

Re: Headless Server - how to run a Lux room from the command line

Post by Maginot » Mon Mar 22, 2021 8:19 pm

Point being, you don't have to quit and reopen a room to change setting; command line switch.

SillyPenguin
Lux Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2021 8:21 pm

Re: Headless Server - how to run a Lux room from the command line

Post by SillyPenguin » Wed Mar 31, 2021 8:38 pm

dustin wrote:
Thu Mar 04, 2021 7:35 pm
SecondTermMistake wrote:
Thu Oct 22, 2020 11:58 pm
Where do those settings get saved? Can I hack some file so it looks like I ran the GUI?
They get saved through the java preferences api. That location will be different depending on your platform.
Hey Dustin, I’m getting this weird error when I try to specify all the agents in a game via the preferences file. I managed to edit the “playerTypes” array in the preferences xml, but whenever I try to launch the game all the agents load properly except the first one. It seems that the first agent is always the “Communist” one. Unfortunately, I can’t work around this by going into the UI since I’m trying to run the game headless.

User avatar
dustin
Lux Creator
Lux Creator
Posts: 10961
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Cascadia
Contact:

Re: Headless Server - how to run a Lux room from the command line

Post by dustin » Fri Apr 02, 2021 6:27 pm

When a game starts with a human player in it, the first human should replace the Communist AI.

SillyPenguin
Lux Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2021 8:21 pm

Re: Headless Server - how to run a Lux room from the command line

Post by SillyPenguin » Tue Apr 06, 2021 12:15 am

Would it be possible to do this with only bots?

Post Reply