Problem With Making Map

Lux maps won't make themselves.
Post Reply
User avatar
Heymbit
iPod Master
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 3:07 pm

Problem With Making Map

Post by Heymbit » Thu Jan 13, 2005 5:08 pm

I get a message saying java.lang.Exception: Error in country 'null': 9
I'm using OSX. What does this mean? How do I fix it?

User avatar
mbauer
Not A Truck
Posts: 3959
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 3:59 pm
Location: Tallahassee
Contact:

Post by mbauer » Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:26 pm

Post the code and maybe we can get to the bottom of it

mbauer

User avatar
dustin
Lux Creator
Lux Creator
Posts: 10800
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 2:01 am
Location: Cascadia
Contact:

Post by dustin » Fri Jan 14, 2005 9:02 am

It means there's an error somewhere in your map file. This could be caused by a missing end tag or a bunch of other things. If you post the full code someone can probably give you the answer.

User avatar
BarStar
Met Dustin
Posts: 1894
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 1:19 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Post by BarStar » Fri Jan 14, 2005 9:09 am

Hey Lordhexx...

I used to get that problem a lot. It's because your countries are not in number order in the id. It happends when you start to make a country and then stop and then start another one. Or if you undo one and start another.

This is how i get around it. Make all your countries. Don't connect the countries till the last thing.

Open a text editor I like bbedit...and open your map file in there.

Go thru the text and make sure all you country id's are in number order starting with "0" after that save and open back in the map editor.

You should be good to go...

barstar

User avatar
Heymbit
iPod Master
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 3:07 pm

Post by Heymbit » Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:24 am

thanks. I just finished it. It's pretty quick game, very bad map. How do I make multiple countries for a continent?

User avatar
BarStar
Met Dustin
Posts: 1894
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 1:19 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Post by BarStar » Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:18 pm

Go to the "create conts" selection
then you click new cont...

then click and drag from the country to the new cont color on the top left..the new one you made...

that's it

Post Reply